Texas Legislative Committees

Bills before the 2013 Texas Legislature

Week of April 14, 2013

Support HB 3599: contact House Energy Resources Committee

HB 3599 by Lon Burnam  requires a minimum setback of 500 feet from oil and gas wells, and other restrictions on the siting, drilling, completion, and operation of oil and gas wells in certain locations.

Support HB 3600: contact House Energy Resources Committee

HB 3600 by Lon Burnam is about the rights of an owner of the surface land in connection with oil and gas exploration and production operations; it provides administrative penalties and compensation for damage to landowners' prpoperty.

Support HB 448: contact House Energy Resources Committee

A simple bill by Representative Dawnna Dukes about promoting a surrounding landowner’s right to information about hydraulic fracturing, House Bill 448 will require that:
  • An operator send notice via US mail to all landowners located within 500 feet that will state that the operator has been given a permit to drill and that the operator intends to use the hydraulic fracturing treatment.
  • The notice must be mailed not later than the 15th day after the date the permit to drill is issued.  
  • The notice will include information that chemicals used to frack the well will be posted on FracFocus website.

Against SB 957-CSHB 4: Contact Senate Natural Resources Committee

SB 957 guts the contested case hearing process with narrow timelines and a restrictive process.  Contested case hearings are a vital process by which citizens/municipalities, etc. can dispute or improve a permit for any dirty industry, be it a landfill, cement kiln, dirty power plant, etc.  These cases are only used less than 2% of the time at our environmental agency, the TCEQ, to either kill/or improve a permit.  Tell them to leave the process the way it was-- leave the current process alone-- and vote no to disallow this bill out of committee.

Against HB 2828: contact House Energy Resources Committee Wednesday April 17

HB 2828 essentially strips away local municipalities, water boards, etc. authority to formulate gas drilling setbacks, and any/all regulations to protect the safety, property values, the quality of life, within a community.  This would make all the hard work folks in Dallas, Southlake, Flower Mound, etc. a moot point in getting setbacks or any kind of protections for their  areas. And those in the future who may also want to do so in the Haynesford and Eagleford shale.  The Railroad Commission would have the final word on everything oil and gas-related superseding anything any political body outside of them would want to do on fracking, etc. Tell them that municipal local control/ordinances of officials to protect residents are important... to vote no, and not allow this bill out of Committee.

Committee Members

Senate Natural Resources Committee - 2013

Troy Fraser, Chair (Horseshoe Bay) troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us 512.463.0124
Craig Estes, Vice Chair (Wichita Falls) craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us 512.463.0130
Bob Deuell MD bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0102
Robert Duncan (Lubbock) robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0128
Rodney Ellis (Houston) rodney.ellis@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0113
Kevin Eltife (Tyler) kefin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0101
Glenn Hegar (Katy) glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0118
Juan Hinojosa (McAllen) juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0120
Robert Nichols (Jacksonville) robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0103
Kel Seliger (Amarillo) kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0131
Carlos Uresti (San Antonio) carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0119

House Natural Resources Committee - 2013

Trent Ashby trent.ashby@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0508
Dennis Bonnen dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0564
Bill Callegari bill.callegari@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0528
Eric Johnson, Vice Chair eric.johnson@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0586
Jim Keffer james.keffer@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0656
Tracy King tracy.king@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0194
Lyle Larson lyle.larson@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0646
Eddie Lucio eddie.lucio_iii@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0606
Trey Martinez Fischer trey.martinezfischer@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0616
Doug Miller doug.miller@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0710
Allan Ritter, Chair allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0706

House Energy Resources Committee - 2013

Jim Keffer, Chair (Eastland) james.keffer@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0656
Myra Crownover, Vice Chair (Denton) myra.crownover@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0582
Lon Burnam (Ft. Worth) lon.burnam@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0740
Terry Canales (Edinburg) Terry.canales@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0426
Tom Craddick tom.craddick@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0500
Tony Dale (Cedar Park) tony.dale@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0696
Phil King (Weatherford) phil.king@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0738
J.M. Lozano (Kingsville) jm.lozano@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0463
Chris Paddie (Marshall) chris.paddie@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0556
Ralph Sheffield (Temple) ralph.sheffield@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0630
Gene Wu (Houston) gene.wu@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0492

House Land and Resource Management Committee - 2013

Joe Deshotel, Chair joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us 512-463-3662
Armando Walle, Vice Chair walle.armando@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0924
James Frank james.frank@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0534
Craig Goldman craig.goldman@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0608
Abel Herrero abel.herrero@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0462
Chris Paddie chris.paddie@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0556
Tan Parker tan.parker@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0688
David Simpson david.simpson@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0750
Drew Springer drew.springer@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0526

House Business & Industry Committee - 2013;

Rene Oliveira, Chair rene.oliveira@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0640
Dwayne Bohac dwayne.bohac@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0727
Bob Orr rob.orr@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0538
Eddie Rodriguez eddie.rodriguez@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0674
Jason Villalba jason.villalba@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0576
Armando L. Walle armando.walle@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0924
Paul D. Workman paul.workman@house.state.tx.us 512.463.0652
Ben Fitzgibbons benjamin.fitzgibbons@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0766